Ann Morrison, Melissa Errico, More Among 2023 Bistro Award Winners | Playbill

Awards Ann Morrison, Melissa Errico, More Among 2023 Bistro Award Winners

The 38th annual ceremony honoring the worlds of cabaret and jazz will be held in April at the Gotham Comedy Club.

Ann Morrison and Melissa Errico

Fifteen artists—including Broadway actors Ann Morrison, Melissa Errico, and Ann Talman—will be honored for their cabaret and/or jazz work at the 38th annual Bistro Awards gala April 17 at 7 PM at Gotham Comedy Club.

Ann Morrison, who created the role of Mary Flynn in the short-lived original Broadway production of Stephen Sondheim's Merrily We Roll Along, will receive the Solo Musical award for her 54 Below show, Merrily From Center Stage. Tony nominee Melissa Errico (Amour, My Fair Lady, Irving Berlin's White Christmas) has been named the recipient of the Concept Recording award for her solo album Out of the Dark: The Film Noir Project. And, Talman, seen on Broadway opposite Elizabeth Taylor in The Little Foxes and later in The House of Blue Leaves, Some Americans Abroad, and Little Women, will be honored with the award for Musical Memoir for her show Elizabeth Taylor and the Shadow of Her Smile, which explores—through story and song—her relationship with late screen icon Taylor. 

Watch Melissa Errico's Sultry Music Video for 'Angel Eyes,' From New Solo Album

The complete list of the 38th Annual Bistro Award winners follows:

Ronny Whyte: ASCAP-Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award

Daryl Sherman: Enduring Artistry

Brandon James Gwinn: Ira Eaker Special Achievement Award

Danny Bacher: Singer/Instrumentalist

Tim Connell: Vocalist

Tawanda: Jazz Vocalist

Danny Bolero: Musical Characterization (They Call Me Cuban Pete)

Scott F. Mason: Comic Characterization (One Dame Funny Night)

Therese Lee: Autobiographical Show (Riding the Bus to the Red Carpet)

Ann Morrison: Solo Musical (Merrily From Center Stage)

Josephine Sanges: Tribute Show (The Funny Girl in Me)

Ann Talman: Musical Memoir (Elizabeth Taylor and The Shadow of Her Smile)

Melissa Errico: Concept Recording (Out of the Dark: The Film Noir Project)

Beverley Church Hogan: Jazz Recording (Sweet Invitation)

Mark Winkler: Singer/songwriter Recording (Late Bloomin’ Jazzman)

The upcoming ceremony will feature musical director Daryl Kojak on piano, along with Ritt Henn on bass and Rex Benincasa on drums. Gerry Geddes will direct the evening. 

Sherry Eaker, the producer of the event since its inception in 1985, heads up the roster of writers and critics, which also includes Gerry Geddes, Mark Dundas Wood, Penelope Thomas, Lisa Jo Sagolla, and Betsyann Faiella. Mark Dundas Wood is associate producer for this year’s show.

For tickets visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!