Kimberly Akimbo, Parade, Sondheim Unplugged, More Earn 2024 Grammy Nominations | Playbill

Awards Kimberly Akimbo, Parade, Sondheim Unplugged, More Earn 2024 Grammy Nominations

Five cast recordings are up for Best Musical Theater Album at the 66th annual ceremony.

Victoria Clark in Kimberly Akimbo Joan Marcus

Nominations have been revealed for the 66th Annual Grammy Awards, set to be handed out February 4, 2024 at Arena in Los Angeles.

Earning nominations in the Best Musical Theater Album category are the Broadway albums of Kimberly AkimboParadeShuckedSome Like It Hot, and Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street.

Listed as nominees for Kimberly Akimbo are album producers John Clancy, David Stone, and Jeanine Tesori, along with lyricist David Lindsay-Abaire. Parade's nominees include cast members Micaela Diamond, Alex Joseph Grayson, Jake Pedersen, and Ben Platt; and album producers Jason Robert Brown and Jeffrey Lessser. Album producers Brandy Clark, Jason Howland, Shane McAnally, and Billy Jay Stein are the nominees for Shucked, while Some Like It Hot's nominees are actors Christian Borle, J. Harrison Ghee, Adrianna Hicks, and Natasha Yvette Williams; album producers Mary-Mitchell Campbell, Bryan Carter, Scott M. Riesett, Charlie Rosen, and Marc Shaiman; and co-lyricist Scott Wittman. Nominated for Sweeney Todd are actors Annaleigh Ashford and Josh Groban along with album producers Thomas Kail and Alex Lacamoire.

Also picking up nominations were Liz Callaway's To Steve With Love: Liz Callaway Celebrates Stephen Sondheim and Sondheim Unplugged (The NYC Sessions) Vol. 3, both in the Traditional Pop Vocal Album category.

The Met's Champion got a nomination for Best Opera Recording, along with Boston Modern Orchestra Project and Odyssey Opera Chorus's The Lord of Cries and The Dime Museum and Isaura String Quartet's Black Lodge.

Among the other stage names earning nominations were 9 to 5 composer Dolly Parton, nominated for Best Country Solo Performance for "The Last Thing On My Mind;" High School Musical: The Musical: The Series star Olivia Rodrigo for Song of the Year, Record of the Year, and Best Pop Solo Performance for "Vampire" and Album of the Year for Guts; and opera star Rhiannon Giddens for Best Americana Album for You're the One.

Shucked songwriters Brandy Clark and Shane McAnally also had a banner nomination day. Beyond their nod for Shucked's Broadway cast album, McAnally got a nomination for Songwriter of the Year, while Clark picked up nods for Best Country Song and Country Solo Performance ("Buried"), Americana Album (Brandy Clark), and Americana Performance and American Roots Song ("Dear Insecurity").

The Grammy Award nominations can be viewed at

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!