Camille A. Brown, Justin Peck, More Earn Chita Rivera Award Nominations | Playbill

Related Articles
Awards Camille A. Brown, Justin Peck, More Earn Chita Rivera Award Nominations

Named for the late Broadway icon, the awards celebrate dance and choreographic excellence on stage and screen.

Camille A. Brown Jalen Gregory

Nominations are out for this year's Chita Rivera Awards. Cabaret star and Tony winner Bebe Neuwirth announced the nominations April 29 on ABC News’ GMA3: What You Need to Know. The awards celebrate dance and recognize choreographic excellence and achievement in honor of its namesake, the late Tony winner Chita Rivera, who originated some of Broadway's best-known roles, such as Anita in West Side Story and Velma in Chicago.

Winners will be named at a May 20 ceremony at the Skirball Center for the Performing Arts. See the full list of nominees below.

Bernadette Peters to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award at 2024 Chita Rivera Awards

Broadway and film categories each have a separate nominating committee that oversees the nominations. As at last year's awards, Off-Broadway categories will have winners chosen by the awarding committee, with no nominees announced.

See the full list of nominees:


Outstanding Choreography in a Broadway Show
Camille A. Brown, Hell’s Kitchen
Julia Cheng, Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club
Rick and Jeff Kuperman, The Outsiders
Lorin Latarro, The Heart of Rock and Roll / The Who’s Tommy
Justin Peck, Illinoise
Jesse Robb and Shana Carroll, Water for Elephants

Outstanding Dancer in a Broadway Show
Antoine Boissereau, Water for Elephants
Ben Cook, Illinoise
Chloe Davis, Hell’s Kitchen
Gaby Diaz, Illinoise
Tilly Evans-Krueger, The Outsiders
Rachel Lockhart, Illinoise
Phillip Johnson Richardson, The Wiz
Byron Tittle, Illinoise
Ricky Ubeda, Illinoise
Avery Wilson, The Wiz

Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show
Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club
Hell’s Kitchen
The Heart of Rock and Roll
The Outsiders
Water for Elephants


Outstanding Choreography in a Theatrical Release
Jennifer White, Barbie
Benjamin Millepied and Marina Tamayo, Carmen
Fatima Robinson, The Color Purple
Kyle Hanagami and Casey Nicholaw, Mean Girls
Christopher Gattelli, Wonka

Outstanding Direction of a Dance Documentary
Angela Patton and Natalie Rae, Daughters
Benjamin Cantu and Matt Lambert, Eldorado: Everything the Nazis Hate
David Petersen, Lift
Marc Saltarelli, Studio One Forever
Chelsea McMullan, Swan Song

The event is being produced by Joe Lanteri, founder and executive director of the New York City Dance Alliance Foundation, in association with Patricia Watt. It will benefit the NYC Dance Alliance Foundation College Scholarship Program. Since the organization’s founding in 2010, it has awarded $4 million to more than 400 dancers represented in 42 of the most prestigious college dance programs in the country.

This year's awarding committee, chaired by Sylviane Gold, comprises Gary Chryst, Robert LaFosse, Donna McKechnie, Wendy Perron, Lee Roy Reams, and Desmond Richardson. The Broadway nominating committee includes Wendy Federman (chair), Melinda Atwood, Caitlin Carter, Gary Chryst, Don Correia, Jamie deRoy, Sandy Duncan, Peter Filichia, Dr. Louis Galli, Sylviane Gold, Jonathan Herzog, Jim Kierstead, Robert La Fosse, Joe Lanteri, Donna McKechnie, Michael Milton, Mary Beth O'Connor, Wendy Perron, Lee Roy Reams, Desmond Richardson, Andy Sandberg, and Randy Skinner. The film nominating committee comprises Jonathan C. Herzog (chair), Steven Caras, Wilhelmina Frankfurt, Mary Beth O’Connor, and Andy Sandberg.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!