Barbra Streisand Will Be Honored with ASC Board of Governors Award | Playbill

News Barbra Streisand Will Be Honored with ASC Board of Governors Award Barbra Streisand will receive the The American Society of Cinematographers Board of Governors Award at the 29th Annual ASC Awards gala, which will be held Feb. 15 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza.
Barbra Streisand

Barbra Streisand’s accomplishments across the entertainment industry are unparalleled, and we look forward to celebrating her groundbreaking contributions to the art of filmmaking,” said ASC president Richard Crudo in a statement. “The three films she has directed earned 14 Academy Award nominations, and her skill in working with cinematographers in achieving her vision is a hallmark of her directorial work.”

The ASC Board of Governors Award is bestowed on an individual who has advanced the art and craft of filmmaking. Previous recipients include Christopher Nolan, Warren Beatty, Harrison Ford, Jodie Foster, Julia Roberts, Ron Howard and Sydney Pollack.

Streisand was the first American woman to direct, write, produce and star in a feature-length motion picture, "Yentl" (1983), which was shot by David Watkin, BSC. She also directed, produced and starred in "The Prince of Tides" (1991), shot by Stephen Goldblatt, ASC, BSC, and "The Mirror Has Two Faces" (1996), shot by Andrzej Bartkowiak, ASC, and Dante Spinotti, ASC, AIC. She is the only artist to win Academy, Tony, Emmy, Grammy, DGA, Peabody and Golden Globe awards, as well as France’s Légion d’honneur, the AFI Lifetime Achievement Award and Kennedy Center Honors.

For tickets to the ASC Awards, call (323) 969-4333.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!