The Connector Cast Album Gets June Release Date | Playbill

Cast Recordings & Albums The Connector Cast Album Gets June Release Date

Hannah Cruz, Scott Bakula, and Ben Levi Ross lead the new Jason Robert Brown musical.

Jason Robert Brown and Jonathan Marc Sherman's The Connector has revealed a date for its previously announced Off-Broadway cast album, preserving the MCC Theater production that played earlier this year. The album will drop from Concord Theatricals Recordings June 21.

See Ben Levi Ross record "See Yourself" from the musical's score above.

The musical, which finished up its Off-Broadway premiere run March 17, follows two young journalists in the late 1990s New York City publishing world, pitting ambition against values in the race for the ultimate scoop. It features a score by Brown and a book by Sherman. The new work was conceived by Daisy Prince, who also directed the world premiere production.

Along with Ross, the cast includes Scott Bakula, Max Crumm, Hannah Cruz, Ashley Pérez Flanagan, Danielle Lee Greaves, Mylinda Hull, Daniel Jenkins, Jessica Molaskey, Fergie Philippe, Eliseo Román, Ann Sanders, and Michael Winther.

INTERVIEW: Scott Bakula Is Back Singing On Stage

The album, which was recorded recently at The DiMenna Center for Classical Music, is produced by four-time Emmy winner Jeffrey Lesser and three-time Tony winner Brown, who also serves as arranger, orchestrator, and pianist. Three-time Grammy winner Sean Patrick Flahaven, chief theatricals executive for Concord, is the album’s co-producer.

"The Connector is special to me for so many reasons," says Brown in a statement. "On a musical level, it integrates so many of the concepts and languages I’ve absorbed over the last two decades and melds them into something that feels both new and inevitable. It is unquestionably the score that I’m proudest of in my career. And on a personal level, being able to continue my collaboration with Daisy and Jeffrey Lesser and Jessica Molaskey—a relationship going back 30 years—while also building a new and vital bond with Jonathan Marc Sherman, Ben Levi Ross, Hannah Cruz, Scott Bakula, and the rest of this formidable cast has been the absolute greatest joy of my creative life."

"Jason, Jonathan, and Daisy created a compelling, relevant, and exciting new musical,” adds Flahaven. “Like Jason and Daisy’s prior shows, this score will wake you up, grab you, and bring you joy. There’s nothing else that sounds like this."

Tom Murray is the music director, and Kristy Norter is the music coordinator. The band includes Brown, Jamie Eblen, Hidayat Honari, Adam Kaufman, Randy Landau, and Todd Reynolds.

See the complete track list:

1. The Whole World Changed
2. See Yourself
3. I’m Watching You
4. Success
5. So I Came To New York
6. The Voice Of My Generation
7. Cassandra
8. Wind In My Sails
9. Now What
10. Help Me Forget Everything
11. Proof
12. The Western Wall
13. There Never Was

Photos: MCC's The Connector

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!