Some Like It Hot Wins Best Musical Theater Album at 2024 Grammy Awards | Playbill

Awards Some Like It Hot Wins Best Musical Theater Album at 2024 Grammy Awards

Shucked songwriter Brandy Clark also received an award during the pre-telecast ceremony.

Company of Some Like It Hot Marc J. Franklin

Some Like It Hot has received the award for Best Musical Theater Album at the Grammy Awards. The 66th Annual Grammy Awards are currently being held February 4, 2024 at Arena in Los Angeles.

Listed as nominees for Some Like It Hot are actors Christian Borle, J. Harrison Ghee, Adrianna Hicks and Natasha Yvette Williams; album producers Mary-Mitchell Campbell, Bryan Carter, Scott M. Riesett, Charlie Rosen, and Marc Shaiman; and co-lyricist Scott Wittman. Other nominees for Best Musical Theater Album included Kimberly Akimbo, Parade, Shucked, and Sweeney Todd; The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Shucked songwriter Brandy Clark also received the award for Best Americana Performance for "Dear Insecurity." Clark received additional nominations for "Buried," including Best Country Song and Best Country Solo Performance, which both went to Chris Stapleton. Clark's self-titled album was up for Best Americana Album, which was awarded to Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit. Clark's co-writer Shane McAnally was also up for Songwriter of the Year, which was awarded to Theron Thomas. 

Also receiving nominations were Liz Callaway's To Steve With Love: Liz Callaway Celebrates Stephen Sondheim and Sondheim Unplugged (The NYC Sessions) Vol. 3, both in the Traditional Pop Vocal Album category (which was awarded to singer-songwriter Laufey). 9 to 5 composer Dolly Parton was nominated for Best Country Solo Performance for "The Last Thing On My Mind" (the award went to Chris Stapleton). Opera star Rhiannon Giddens was nominated for Best Americana Album for You're the One, and the award went to Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit. 

Nominees whose categories will be announced later in the evening include The Met's Champion, which is up for Best Opera Recording; and High School Musical: The Musical: The Series star Olivia Rodrigo for Song of the Year, Record of the Year, and Best Pop Solo Performance for "Vampire," and Album of the Year for Guts. Playbill will update this story as additional winners are announced.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!