Metropolitan Opera Names Six Winners of 2023 Eric and Dominique Laffont Competition | Playbill

Related Articles
Classic Arts News Metropolitan Opera Names Six Winners of 2023 Eric and Dominique Laffont Competition

Selected from ten finalists, the winners are each awarded at $20,000 prize.

The Metropolitan Opera House Jonathan Tichler

At April 23's Metropolitan Opera Eric and Dominique Laffont Grand Finals Concert, hosted by soprano Latonia Moore, 10 finalists performed with the Met Orchestra, conducted by Michele Gamba. Each singer performed two arias, and from the finalists, six winners were selected, who each receive a $20,000 prize.

The six winners are Anthony León, tenor from Riverside, California; Natalie Lewis, mezzo-soprano from Severna Park, Maryland; Teresa Perrotta, soprano from Orlando, Florida; Sarah Saturnino, mezzo-soprano from Grass Valley, California; Christian Simmons, bass-baritone from Washington, D.C.; and Meredith Wohlgemuth, soprano from Winter Haven, Florida.

The four other finalists, each receiving a $10,000 prize, are Eleomar Cuello, baritone from Havana, Cuba; Yuntong Han, tenor from Shenyang, China; Sahel Salam, tenor from Houston, Texas; and David Wolfe, baritone from Shamokin, Pennsylvania.

The finalists and winners were selected over the course of a series of competitions from a pool of over 1,200 applicants.

Formerly known as the Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions, the Eric and Dominique Laffont Competition is considered a prestigious award for early-career opera singers. Previous winners have included Renée Fleming, Lisette Oropesa, Lawrence Brownlee, and Nadine Sierra. Five previous winners—Eric Owens, Ryan Speedo Green, Latonia Moore, Stephanie Blythe, and Paul Groves—are currently performing together at the Metropolitan Opera in Terence Blanchard's Champion.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!