Lissa deGuzman, A.J. Shivley, Jaime Lyn Beatty, More Join Write Out Loud Concert | Playbill

Cabaret & Concert News Lissa deGuzman, A.J. Shivley, Jaime Lyn Beatty, More Join Write Out Loud Concert

Write Out Loud supports up-and-coming musical theatre writers looking to break into the commercial industry.

Lissa deGuzman, A.J. Shivley, and Jaime Lyn Beatty

The Write Out Loud contest, which shines a spotlight on emerging musical theatre songwriters by giving them the opportunity to have a song performed by Broadway professionals and recorded in a NYC recording studio, has announced the lineup for the September 25 concert celebrating its fleet of 2023 winners.

Appearing at 54 Below in the material showcase will be Jordan Barrow (Wicked), Jaime Lyn Beatty (Team StarKid), Jane Bruce (Jagged Little Pill), Lissa deGuzman (Disney’s Aladdin, King Kong), Cailen Fu (Mean Girls), Nathan Levy (Dear Evan Hansen, Once Upon A One More Time), Kim Onah (& Juliet), and A.J. Shively (Paradise Square, Bright Star, La Cage aux Folles), with Yael Karoly, Kaia Rubin, Leilani Patao, and Alyssa Payne.

This year's winning songs include “It’ll Find Me” by Callum Shannon, “Runaway Girl” by Veronica Mansour and abs wilson, and “Stone Cold Killer” by Kat O’Sullivan, Delaney Guyer, and Kenny Youch. 

This year's contest was guest judged by Lisa Campbell Albert (The Moment Before The Music Begins), Kelsie Johnson (Empire), Tom Kitt (Next to Normal), Joriah Kwamé (Little Miss Perfect), Andrew Lippa (The Addams Family), Daniel Mertzlufft (Ratatouille: The TikTok Musical), Ryan Scott Oliver (35MM), Macy Schmidt (The Broadway Sinfonietta), and Elyssa Samsel and Kate Anderson (Between the Lines), alongside Write Out Loud board members Taylor Louderman (Mean Girls), Ben Rauhala (Disney Princess - The Concert), Hannah Kloepfer (Pitch In), Sarah Glugatch, and Josh Collopy.

Past winners have included India Angel, Ethan Carlson, Matt Copley, Taylor Fagins, Chloe Geller, Anna M Johnson, Joriah Kwamé, Brandon Michael Lowden, Kailey Marshall, Natalie Myrick, Alexander Sage Oyen, Matt Pena, Kat Siciliano, Emmet Smith, Mackenzie Szabo, and Elyza Tuan.

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!