Jerry Mitchell Named Recipient of 2023 Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award | Playbill

Tony Awards Jerry Mitchell Named Recipient of 2023 Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award

Hosted by Ariana DeBose, the 76th Annual Tony Awards will be presented June 11.

Jerry Mitchell

Two-time Tony winner Jerry Mitchell has been named the recipient of the 2023 Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award in recognition of his dedication and contributions to Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS and for more than three decades of volunteer service through the arts.

Named for the late leader and chairman of the board of the American Theatre Wing, the Isabelle Stevenson Award is presented annually to a member of the theatre community who has made a "substantial contribution of volunteered time and effort on behalf of one or more humanitarian, social service or charitable organizations." Last year's recipient was Shubert Organization Chair and CEO Robert E. Wankel.

When Mitchell arrived in New York City in the 1980s, the AIDS epidemic had already begun. To help those affected, Mitchell organized his fellow Broadway dancers from The Will Rogers Follies for a burlesque performance that raised $8,000, and Broadway Bares was born. To date, the annual fundraiser, performed annually in New York and in London, has raised more than $21 million for Broadway Cares, including $1.9 million in last year's edition alone.

“It is a true honor to present Jerry Mitchell with this year’s Isabelle Stevenson Award, for his extraordinary commitment to Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS,” said Charlotte St. Martin, president of The Broadway League, and Heather Hitchens, president and CEO of the American Theatre Wing, in a joint statement. “Jerry’s passion and drive for philanthropy is unparalleled and his contributions as an advocate and mentor for the LGBTQ+ and Broadway communities are immeasurable.”

Director-choreographer Mitchell received Tony Awards for Best Choreography for Kinky Boots and La Cage aux Folles. He was also Tony-nominated for Best Choreography for The Full Monty, Hairspray, Never Gonna Dance, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, and Legally Blonde and for Best Direction of a Musical for Kinky Boots.

Funny Girl star Lea Michele and 2022 Tony winner Myles Frost will announce the 76th Annual Tony Award nominations May 2. 

Hosted by Ariana DeBose, the American Theatre Wing’s 76th Annual Tony Awards, presented by the Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing, will air live June 11 from the United Palace in Washington Heights from 8-11 PM on CBS, streaming live and on demand on Paramount+.

CBS and Pluto TV will present The Tony Awards: Act One, a pre-show of live, exclusive content leading into the 76th Annual Tony Awards. The celebration commences at 6:30 PM ET and continues through 8 PM. 

Matthew Morrison, Christian Borle, Marissa Jaret Winokur, Andy Karl, Cyndi Lauper, Billy Porter, Annaleigh Ashford and More Honor Jerry Mitchell

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!