Stacey Mindich Named 2016 Robert Whitehead Award Recipient | Playbill

News Stacey Mindich Named 2016 Robert Whitehead Award Recipient Hedwig and the Angry Inch, The Bridges of Madison County and Dear Evan Hansen producer Stacey Mindich has been named the 2016 recipient of the Commercial Theater Institute's Robert Whitehead Award, which will be presented March 15 at Sardi's restaurant in Times Square.

The annual honor recognizes "outstanding achievement in commercial theatre producing."

Mindich is a Tony Award-winning producer and was recently named one of Variety’s Entertainment Elite. Other noteworthy productions include Annie, The Heiress, Lucky Guy, The Cripple of Inishmaan and The Lion (Drama Desk Award).

"Stacey is an ideal Whitehead Award winner," said Tom Viertel, Executive Director of CTI. "She is bold and passionate – developing and producing great new shows for Broadway and beyond while supporting artists across a wide range of experience as well as important theatrical organizations. She’s what a Broadway producer should be."

"Stacey Mindich continues the tradition of legendary producers such as Robert Whitehead, for whom this award is named, with her innovation in developing and producing works by both new and established artists," said Victoria Bailey, TDFs’ Executive Director.

A joint project of The Broadway League and Theatre Development Fund, CTI — the nation's only formal training program for commercial theatre producers — was founded in 1981 by the late Frederic B. Vogel. The five-decade long career of the late Robert Whitehead inspired this award. Previous recipients include Jon B. Platt, Jill Furman, Stuart Thompson, Dori Berinstein, Benjamin Mordecai, Dennis Grimaldi, Kevin McCollum, Randall L. Wreghitt, Marc Routh, Liz Oliver, Eric Krebs, Jeffrey Finn, Anne Strickland Squadron, David Binder and Nick Scandalios.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!