Original London Cast Recording of Dreamgirls Sets May Release Date | Playbill

London News Original London Cast Recording of Dreamgirls Sets May Release Date The new song “Listen,” written for the 2006 film, will be released as a single April 28.

The original London cast recording of Dreamgirls, featuring Olivier-winning performances from Amber Riley (Effie White) and Adam J. Bernard (Jimmy Early), is to be released May 12. “Listen,” a new song written for the 2006 film and added for this production, where it is performed by Riley and Liisi LaFontaine (who plays Deena Jones), will be released as a single April 28.

Those who pre-order the album will be able to download Riley’s recording of “And I Am Telling You I'm Not Going” beginning April 21, three weeks ahead of the album release date.

The album will be released by Sony Masterworks Broadway via Amazon, iTunes, and all usual channels. 

The double-album was recorded live over four performances at the Savoy Theatre in February, and is produced by composer Henry Krieger and mixed by Andy Bradfield. In addition to Riley, Bernard, and La Fontaine, the company also features Ibinabo Jack as Lorrell Robinson, Joe Aaron Reid as Curtis Taylor Jr., Tyrone Huntley as C.C. White, Nicholas Bailey as Marty, and Lily Frazer as Michelle Morris.

In a press statement, Krieger says of the recording, “It is my great pleasure to share this ‘alive’ live recording of the West End production of Dreamgirls. Producing this recording and working with our brilliant Musical Supervisor Nick Finlow and studio pros Andy Bradfield and Tris Penna, has been a dream come true. I am thrilled to share the Dreamgirls Original London Cast Recording with those who have loved the production for 35 years as well as with those who are just discovering it now."

The track listing follows:

Act 1
“I’m Looking for Something, Baby”
“Goin’ Downtown”
“Takin’ the Long Way Home”
“Fake Your Way to the Top”
“Cadillac Car”
“Steppin’ to the Bad Side”
“Party, Party”
“I Want You, Baby”
“Press Conference”
“It’s All Over”
“And I Am Telling You I’m Not Going”

Act 2
“Love, Love You Baby”
“When I First Saw You”
“I Am Changing”
“Ain’t No Party”
“I Meant You No Harm”
“The Rap”
“I Miss You, Old Friend”
“One Night Only”
“I’m Somebody”
“Effie White’s Gonna Win/You Are My Dream” (Reprise)
“Hard To Say Goodbye”
“Dreamgirls” (Reprise)

The company also includes Michael Afemaré, Jocasta Almgill, Callum Aylott, Hugo Batista, Samara Casteallo, Chloe Chambers, Carly Mercedes Dyer, Joelle Dyson, Kimmy Edwards, Candace Furbert, Nathan Graham, Ashley Luke Lloyd, Gabriel Mokake, Siân Nathaniel-James, Sean Parkins, Kirk Patterson, Ryan Reid, Rohan Richards, Noel Samuels, Durone Stokes, and Tosh Wanogho-Maud.

For further details on the show, visit Dreamgirlswestend.com.


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!