Kolton Krouse, J. Harrison Ghee, Dylis Croman, More Receive 2023 Chita Rivera Award Nominations | Playbill

Related Articles
Awards Kolton Krouse, J. Harrison Ghee, Dylis Croman, More Receive 2023 Chita Rivera Award Nominations

Given by the NYC Dance Alliance Foundation, the honors celebrate dance and choreographic excellence on stage and screen.

Kolton Krouse, J. Harrison Ghee, and Dylis Croman

Nominations for the 2023 Chita Rivera Awards were announced April 28, with the honors set to be handed out May 22 at NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts. Jared Grimes (Funny Girl) will host the evening, produced by NYC Dance Alliance Foundation Founder and Executive Director Joe Lanteri in conjunction with Patricia Watt.

The honors aim to celebrate dance and choreographic excellence, recognizing the best in dancing on stage and screen. This year's awards are the first to go gender neutral, with a single gender-free category with twice as many nominees as the former categories. Two winners will be named.

In addition to the competitive categories, John Kander will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award, and BroadwayHD will receive the Ambassadors for the Arts Award. Non-competitive special recognitions are also being bestowed upon Gaby Diaz and Ryan Steele, both named Outstanding Dancers in an Off-Broadway Show for their work in Only Gold; and Andy Blankenbuehler, receiving Outstanding Choreography in an Off-Broadway Show, also for Only Gold.

This year's Broadway nominating committee includes Wendy Federman, Melinda Atwood, Caitlin Carter, Gary Chryst, Don Correia, Jamie deRoy, Sandy Duncan, Peter Filichia, Dr. Louis Galli, Sylviane Gold, Jonathan Herzog, Jim Kierstead, Robert La Fosse, Joe Lanteri, Donna McKechnie, Michael Milton, Mary Beth O'Connor, Wendy Perron, Lee Roy Reams, Andy Sandberg, and Randy Skinner. The Film committee comprises Jonathan C. Herzog, Steven Caras, Wilhelmina Frankfurt, Mary Beth O’Connor, and Andy Sandberg. The Awarding committee includes Sylviane Gold, Gary Chryst, Robert LaFosse, Donna McKechnie, Wendy Perron, and Lee Roy Reams.

See the full list of nominees:

Outstanding Choreography in a Broadway Show
Steven Hoggett, A Beautiful Noise: The Neil Diamond Musical
Casey Nicholaw, Some Like It Hot
Susan Stroman, New York, New York
Jennifer Weber, & Juliet

Outstanding Dancer in a Broadway Show
Clyde Alves, New York, New York
Peter John Chursin, Bob Fosse’s Dancin’
Dylis Croman, Bob Fosse’s Dancin’
J. Harrison Ghee, Some Like It Hot
Jacob Guzman, Bob Fosse’s Dancin’
Robyn Hurder, A Beautiful Noise: The Neil Diamond Musical
Kolton Krouse, Bob Fosse’s Dancin’
Jess LeProtto, A Beautiful Noise: The Neil Diamond Musical
Mattie Love, Bob Fosse’s Dancin’
Khori Michelle Petinaud, Bob Fosse’s Dancin’

Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show
& Juliet
A Beautiful Noise: The Neil Diamond Musical
Bob Fosse’s Dancin’
New York, New York
Some Like It Hot

Choreography in Film
Mandy Moore, Babylon
Luke Broadlick, Magic Mike's Last Dance
Ellen Kane, Roald Dahl’s Matilda The Musical
Chloe Arnold, Spirited
Jamal Sims, 13: The Musical

Outstanding Direction of a Documentary Release
Amy Rice, Broadway Rising
Dan Watt, Everybody Dance
Brett Morgan, Moonage Daydream

Special Recognitions
Outstanding Dancers in an Off-Broadway Show: Gaby Diaz, Only Gold; Ryan Steele, Only Gold
Outstanding Choreography in an Off-Broadway Show: Andy Blankenbuehler, Only Gold
Lifetime Achievement Award: John Kander
Ambassadors for the Arts Award: BroadwayHD, founded by Bonnie Comley and Stewart F. Lane

Visit ChitaRiveraAwards.com.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!